0
de waal

edmund de waal (1964)

       Senza categoria

E. De Wall on anxiety … Edmund Arthur Lowndes de Waal, (1964), British artist, is the author of The Hare with Amber Eyes (2010), and The White Road (2015). He is most well known for his large-scale installations of porcelain vessels for which he has received several awards and honours

0
mask-297200_960_720

Carnival

       Senza categoria

Carnival is usually celebrated in the period before the countdown to Easter. In some countries, celebrations last two weeks and culminate with one massive Mardi Gras party. Mardi Gras is the last Tuesday before Lent, but it is often used to refer to the whole celebration period. Traditionally it is the time when Christians use up all the rich food…… Read More »

0
pics

works by and about refugees

       Senza categoria

15 WORKS OF CONTEMPORARY LITERATURE BY AND ABOUT REFUGEES STORIES AND VOICES WE NEED NOW AND ALWAYS January 31, 2017 By Emily Temple Leila Abdelrazaq, Baddawi In the vein of Maus and Persepolis, this is a personal, political graphic novel (that began as a webcomic!) based on the stories Abdelrazaq’s father told her about growing up in a Palestinian refugee…… Read More »

0
download

a poem

       Senza categoria

Winning Poem WHOLEHEARTEDLY I CHEERED the day Which came and went without a FUSS Which led to April, then to May, And seemed would BUCKLE under us. Three stars – and each with their own BEAM – They MERRILY PEERED down at me, As QUEER as such a thing might seem, And BECKONED in the Christmas tree. But, Oh, BLASTED…… Read More »