Senza categoria

bronte family

8 Agosto 2015 at 07:20 By


Emily Brontë was born in Yorkshire on 30th July 1818. She was the fifth daughter of a country parson. It is difficult to speak about her without describing also her relatives. The Brontës were a family composed of three sisters, Charlotte (1816), Emily (1818), and Anne (1820), and their brother, Branwell. They published some poems together under masculine pseudonyms, according to a customs of their period. The three sisters and, were very close and they developed their childhood imaginations through the collaborative writing of increasingly complex stories. The confrontation with the deaths first of their mother then of their two older sisters marked them profoundly and influenced their writing. Their fame was due as much to their own tragic destinies as to their precociousness. Their home, the parsonage at Haworth in Yorkshire, now the Brontë Parsonage Museum has become a place of pilgrimage for hundreds of thousands of visitors each year. Emily Brontë’s only novel Wuthering Heights , started in 1945, was published in 1847. Her contemporaries did not understand the book, complex and subject to various interpretations. It can be seen as an allegory about the conception of the universe built from different forces, storm and calm. The book was adapted several times for the cinema and for TV . The mist famous version was directed by William Wyler in1939 starring Sir Laurence Olivier, Merle Oberon and David Niven, the latest was directed by Andrea Arnold in 2011, starring Kaya Scodelario, James Howson and Oliver Milburn. A curiosity: the only existing portrait of the author is together with her family. It was made by Branwell Brontë in 1834. He painted a portrait of his three sisters including his own image but became dissatisfied with it and painted it out. This portrait now hangs in the National Gallery.

Please follow and like us:

Lascia un commento