lewis carroll (1832 -1898)

Lewis Carroll is the pseudonym of the English writer and mathematician Charles Lutwidge Dodgson. He invented his pen name by translating his first two names into the Latin Carolus Lodovicus and then anglicizing it into Lewis Carroll.
Son of a clergyman and first of 11 children, Carroll began at an early age to entertain himself and his family with magic tricks, marionette shows, and poems.
He graduated from Christ Church College, Oxford, in 1854 where he remained lecturing on mathematics and writing treatises and guides for students.
Carroll took deacon’s orders in 1861, but he was never ordained a priest, partly because he was afflicted with a stammer that made preaching difficult and partly, perhaps, because he had discovered other interests. Among them was photography, at which he became very expert. He like especially to photograph children. Alice Liddell, one of the three daughters of Henry George Liddell, the dean of Christ Church, was one of his photographic subjects and the model for the Alice.
As a mathematician, Carroll was conservative and derivative. As a logician, he was more interested in logic as a game than as an instrument for testing reason.
In 1867 Carroll travelled through Europe and Russia with preacher and friend from Oxford, Henry Parry Liddon.
In 1881 Carroll resigned his lectureship at Oxford in order to focus on his writing.
He died on 14 January 1898 at his sisters’ home The Chestnuts and he now lies buried with many of his siblings at The Mount cemetery in Guildford, Surrey, England. His epitaph reads Where I am there shall also my servant be.
• Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (1865)
• Phantasmagoria (1869),
• Alice Through the Looking Glass (1872), and What Alice Found There, including another famous poem “Jabberwocky”.
• The Hunting of the Snark (1876), his epic nonsense poem
• Euclid and his modern rivals 1879, humorous play
• The Principles of Parliamentary Representation (1884) on voting theory
• A Tangled Tale (1885) which combines mathematical puzzles ‘knots’, poems, and a narrative story.
• Alice’s Adventures Underground (1886),
• The Game of Logic (1887),
• The Nursery Alice (1889),
• Sylvie and Bruno (1889), and Sylvie and Bruno Concluded (1893).
• Eight or Nine Wise Words about Letter Writing (1890)

Lascia un commento